PM Modi's visit to Andamans: Three islands in Andaman and Nicobar renamed after Netaji Subash Chandra Bose


Prime Minister Narendra Modi on December 30, 2018 renamed three islands of Andaman and Nicobar after Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose. These three islands are - Ross Island, Neil Island and Havelock Island.

These islands were renamed during PM Modi’s visit to Port Blair to mark the 75th Anniversary of hoisting of the National Flag at Port Blair by freedom fighter Subhash Chandra Bose.

Ross Island                            -        Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Island

Neil Island                             -        Shaheed Dweep

Havelock Island                    -        Swaraj Dweep

Bose had hoisted the flag at Port Blair on December 30, 1943, as Port Blair was the first territory to be freed from British rule by the Japanese during Second World War. 

Share :