Three islands in Andaman and Nicobar renamed after Netaji Subash Chandra Bose


  • ·       to mark the 75th Anniversary of hoisting of the National Flag at Port Blair by freedom fighter Subhash Chandra Bose.

Old Name                     New Name

Ross Island         -        Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Island

Neil Island          -        Shaheed Dweep

Havelock Island -        Swaraj Dweep


Bose had hoisted the flag at Port Blair on December 30, 1943, as he believed that Port Blair was the first territory to be freed from British rule. This was done after the Japenese captured that area during the time of the Second World War.

Share :