Ballon d’Or for Luka Modric


• Croatian Captain and midfielder Luka Modric, who had led Croatia to its maiden Cup final before they lost to France in the summit clash, has won the 2018 Ballon d'Or.

• With the win, the 33-year old has become the first player other than Portugal’s Cristiano Ronaldo or Argentina’s Lionel Messi to claim the award in more than a decade. Before Modric, both Messi and Ronaldo had won five Ballon d'Ors each.

• This year, Ronaldo was placed second behind Modric, while Messi finished fifth. France’s Antoine Griezmann was third, while the teenage sensation Kylian Mbappe was placed fourth.

Mbappe, however, won the best young player of the year award at the Ballon d'Or ceremony.

• This year, for the first time women’s Ballon d'Or was also named and it went to Norwegian striker Ada Hegerberg.

Share :